Sweet Potato Banana Muffins

Leave a comment

March 13, 2015 by wedandwanderlust

Well, this past week has been quite the whirlwind! During a very quick trip to south Florida for my niece’s baby shower, my little munchkin got sick and has a had a fever off and on ever since.  Sooo we have been quarantined to our house and I think I’m getting cabin fever…especially, since I had much-anticipated plans to attend Sarah Hearts Meet & Make event last night.  Le sigh. Alas leaving my sick, sweet girl is simply not an option, I had to get out my pent up creative excitement somehow.

…so I took it to the kitchen!

In my produce basked I found a purple sweet potato and an overripe banana, which to me spells m-u-f-f-i-n-s! So I Googled a recipe for guidance. Yes guidance. I don’t do well with following recipes. The process usually goes “OOOOh, that sounds good! But I think I’d add this and maybe tweak that amount of that. Or pairing it with that sounds way better!” So here is the recipe I used as a mentor, so to speak.

{Side note: I regret to inform you that I didn’t take any pics of the process. I wanted to make sure they tasted good – tweaking baked goods doesn’t always work out in my favor – and again, I was working quickly. Plus, the idea to blog about them only came after they were taste bud approved. :) }

DSCN2390

I would have loved to have baked/roasted the potato but alas, I was working in the baby’s nap time parameters and also needed to empty and load the dishwasher, so I microwaved it. I then mashed it with the banana and added applesauce since I used our last two eggs for breakfast. (Did I mention I was away for the weekend and came home with a sick kiddo? Yeah, grocery shopping hasn’t happened yet.) Milk was next. Well, again, no grocery shopping trip…so my go-to almond/oat milk were finished so I used some kefir that was almost expired. Yay probiotics! For a touch of sweetness, I added vanilla & maple syrup to the beautiful purple mixture. I then mixed the dry ingredients and added in some ginger & flax meal, for an extra boost of healthy! Filled my muffin cups and popped them in the oven.

One – The smell was so magnificent. Yum!!!

DSCN2388Two – I had lots of fun doing this little mini photo shoot. It was such a thrill as I felt the end of nap time vastly approaching and the adrenalin of doing something out of the norm!

Oh, and to add to the fun, I topped them off with a leftover cupcake topper from my niece’s shower from the fabulous Dixie & Twine! Party supplies have never been more fabulous! DSCN2392Sweet Potato Banana Muffins

Ingredients: **We choose organic items in our home, but whatever you fancy, I’m sure it will still taste great!**

1 medium purple sweet potato, cooked and mashed

1 ripe banana

1 cup applesauce

3/4 cup kefir, or other milk

1/8 cup maple syrup (Honestly, this is optional. The potato and fruits are sweet enough, but I wanted something as a dessert option.)

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup flour, I used Stone Ground Whole Wheat

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ginger

1.5 tbsp flax meal

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Mash then mix all wet ingredients together in one bowl and dry ingredients in another. Add the dry mix to the wet mix, then add to your lined or greased muffin cups. Bake for 15 minutes. Then enjoy! 20150312_143227

Clearly, they are Beanie approved!

Is it sad that I’m already tweaking this recipe as I look it over again?!

…My name is Lisa, and I have am addicted to recipe tweaking.

Leave a Reply

Shandean™

Everything Shandean™ | Lifestyle Blog

Casa de Murphy

stay a while & share in our fun

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

A MAMA COLLECTIVE

beautiful. imperfect. life.

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

