Wandering Into New Territory

4

July 28, 2014 by wedandwanderlust

correctwaldo

April 21st, 2014 marked the end of an era for this Wanderlust family.

The traveling has officially come to an end.

Gasp!     ***Jaw Drop***     ?? Lots of questions??

When we moved back to Florida in January, we knew that eventually the traveling would have to come to an end. You see, while I stayed at home with our sweet girl, Asher continued to travel around the state of Florida, and as you can imagine, that was getting old…fast!

Traveling was taking on a whole new meaning that we were not a fan of. Being a single mom 3-4 days out of the week was exhausting! (I have mad respect for those of you who do it every single, day, 24/7!) Plus, Asher greatly disliked being away from his girls so much, so we knew that things had to change.  A family is meant to either travel together or stay put together. So after three fun years of adventures around the country, my love retired from travel nursing and started a new job as a case manager at a local hospital.

Crazy how so much can change in a year! We’ve gone from having less than two weeks to find a place to live on the other side of the country, to being able to “settle” into our home with a new family member. (I say “settle” because we actually put our home on the market in order to reduce commute time and be near a part of town that will enable our wanderlust spirit to gallivant a little more freely….clearly we have a hard time sitting still! :) )

Don’t get me wrong, I’m very thankful for our time on the road! We created so many memories, grew as individuals and as a couple, explored wonders well-know and newly uncovered, and even began our family. I never had to worry about decorating a home nor taking care of a lawn. There were certainly perks to living a short while in each place!

Being settled is a big change, but a welcomed one. Being able to have a schedule with our little one, to spend time with our friends and family, plus not having my kitchen in a suitcase is truly worth the trade!

Each day is an exuberant adventure, and will continue to be as we discover ways of bringing the world into our home through memories, food, mini explorations, and seeing it anew through my tiny blue-eyed girl.

Join me as I wander into new territory! I’ll be sharing information about our past travels, recipes inspired by the places we ate, tidbits about mommyhood and of course keeping you posted about where our wanderlust will take us next! So be sure to subscribe and wander with me!

***I’ll also be posting exclusive context weekly on Trippin with Tara! A blog about travel, entertainment, and bacon!! ((and who doesn’t love bacon?! ))***
Have you wandered into any new territory lately? Tell me! I’d love to hear about it!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wandering Into New Territory

  1. marva murray says:

    Life is what we make it! great keep writing -I love it Auntie Marva

    Like

  2. […] this season of wandering in the wilderness aka selling our house, I must confess that I often find myself saying some variation of “once […]

    Like

  3. […] of my favorite parts of traveling was getting to live like a local for a short amount of time. We would stay in one place for at […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Shandean™

Everything Shandean™ | Lifestyle Blog

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

A MAMA COLLECTIVE

beautiful. imperfect. life.

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

