Our Greatest Adventure: Boy or Girl or One of Each?!

5

July 30, 2013 by wedandwanderlust

As with most couples, from the day that we found out that we were having a baby, there was much anticipation brewing about what we were going to have. The Boy vs. Girl discussions were varied, intriguing and downright hilarious at times…and I don’t just mean between the two of us! Hearing the logic behind each persons reasoning was priceless!  Whether it was because of how sick I was in the beginning, what I was eating… or wasn’t eating for that matter, what the baby looked like in the sonogram or just because they had a “feeling”, each was thoroughly convinced that their belief was hands down, the right one.

995760_10102202917083352_2076062354_n

We even had names given to our Lil Bean. Personal favorites:

-Baby Jim or Baby Jimmy-Sue (if you didn’t read that with a heavy southern twang, then you need to go back and read it again! ;) , given by Asher’s 8 years old cousin.

-Jehoshaphat, Jehoshaphatina or Esmeralda, given by Asher’s 97 years old Great-Grandmother. (She’s a real jokester!)

-Curious Curzon given by my father, which could clearly go either way! ;)

What was my preference about “who” has been moving around in my body and changing our lives completely? Twins to be completely honest. One of each…Crazy I know, but I’ve always wanted twins. With each ultrasound, I hoped that we would find another little munchkin swimming around.

My love, growing belly and I on our way the big reveal!

My love, growing belly and I on our way the big reveal!

Alas, ’twas not the case. On July 24th we had our 20 week ultrasound, and saw just

one,

perfectly healthy,

extremely active,

precious beyond belief,

button nosed,

little

Babygirl2

BABY GIRL! :)

BabyGirl3

(Left)She finally stopped moving and fell asleep for a few moments in just the right position and our tech was very kind and gave us some 3D glances of our cutie! (Right) Had a fun little gender reveal for "BabyJimmy Sue" with our Virginia family the night we found out!

(Left)She finally stopped moving and fell asleep for a few moments in just the right position and our tech was very kind and gave us some 3D glances of our cutie! (Right) Had a fun little gender reveal for “Baby Jimmy Sue” with our Virginia family the night we found out!

How excited we are to be blessed with this little miracle! I’m beyond thrilled to know that she’s healthy, already a foodie (she makes it very clear which foods she likes and which she does not!), and pretty darn cute! I can not wait to watch her grow into an exceptional and exquisite young lady and to grow along with her as she challenges me. (If you know me, “girl” things are not my strongest suit, so already thinking about doing hair and make-up makes me nervous and scared! ) I will learn to love pink if she finds it to be her absolute favorite, and properly executing a French Braid is on my to-do list before she arrives. Why? Because I’m her mommy, and I want to make sure that she is able to experience this vast and intriguing world with an open mind and caring heart.

She will truly be Our Greatest Adventure. One that we are already so proud of (her daddy hasn’t removed the pink “It’s a Girl” bracelet that doctor gave us from his wrist and I don’t think he will anytime soon) and can’t wait for her to be placed in our arms in December. Our Lil Bean is officially a Beanette, and now the fun of choosing her name and working on her nursery begins!

She…saying “she” makes my heart flutter each time I say it. :)

5 thoughts on “Our Greatest Adventure: Boy or Girl or One of Each?!

  1. Rebecca says:

    I’m so stinkin’ happy for you two!! Many blessings your way!

    Like

  2. Donna T. says:

    Yayayaya!!!!!!! Having a little girl first is awesome! (I guess it is all I know with my experience) Dressing girls up is way more fun, and easier (even if you aren’t into girlie-girl stuff, like me). Your little girl is very very blessed to have you! By the way, why couldn’t you be doing all this fun pregnant stuff when you were here?! ;)

    Like

  3. Lynda Johnston says:

    Congrats!!!! Having a little girl is so much fun!!! Love and miss you:)

    Like

  4. auntie Marva says:

    May God continue to bless & keep you all as you experience the greatest miracle
    Love Mervis & Grady

    Like

Leave a Reply

Shandean™

Everything Shandean™ | Lifestyle Blog

Casa de Murphy

stay a while & share in our fun

Food Fellowship and Wine

A celebration of all things good

A MAMA COLLECTIVE

beautiful. imperfect. life.

Outmanned

A collection of essays from Mary Widdicks: writer, humorist, novelist, and former psychologist who can't remember if she fed all her kids this morning.

Insidethelifeofmoi

An eccentric blogger with a pen and a thousand ideas

